Healthy. Wealthy. Wise.

i’m getting old. let’s face it. 25 is a milestone. HAHAHA! just messin’ arounds but seriously, it is a milestone. i really can’t do the all-nighters like i used. albeit i don’t feel a ton of aches and pains, i definitely feel more than i used to. but i’ve realized its an ok thing. let me back up a bit on my thought process.

i have been given the awesome opportunity to lead worship on Sunday mornings in our extra service at Scotts Hill. my usual job is leading students in worship at Detour on Wednesday nights. so this brings something fresh and anew (which i love) as well as getting to work and lead other/different people (which i also love!). i have also began to journal my Sunday afternoon specifically in the mindset of the services. i wanted to record the experience, as well as look back on things i need to work on, and finally, keep a prayer list for the band, the people, and the Church. my heart is to remove myself from these times and allow God to change hearts. but i am human and i do mess up on silly things like prayers for Offering, skipping opening videos, etc.

as i began the entry for this last week, it was hard to pick out things within myself that “went wrong”. not saying i’m perfect by any means, but i definitely worked on my mishaps from the previous week. the band gel’d together like crazy! the engagement and environment were awesome. the way we did the service set up for an amazing time of worship and after the Message was spoken, it wasn’t hard to get into the presence of God and worship Him. seriously all-in-all it was an amazing Sunday.

except i was tired.

the one big thing that killed me is that i was tired. i realized not that i’m lazy, but on the weekends i sleep late and stay up late and come Sundays it kicks my rear end! that’s when i came to the epiphany i’ve been trying to avoid for some months now. i’m “getting old” and i need to start doing the whole “go to bed and get up early thing”.

but for now in my life, it makes sense to do so. i take the quote from Benjamin Franklin: “Early to bed and early to rise makes a man healthy, wealthy, and wise.” it’s so true right now in my life. the earlier i get to bed, the better i feel the next day. i’m not sure yet about the wealthy part, but it does help me start my day off in God’s Word, which is about the wisest thing i know i can do.

i’m about to start back up in school to finish my degree and i know this principle has to begin in my life. i am lucky man in that i don’t have to be at work at the crack of dawn. but i’ve been wasting it away on sleep. i commit to working on this whole “old people” thing and get up early and go to bed early. filling my awake time with pursuit of dreams and desires God has laid on my heart. to write songs. to make music. to read books. to exercise. to live.

i hate getting old. but man i love it. and the ideas of the future look amazing.

much love.

Leave a comment

The Hollands

our life. our ideas. our struggles. our thoughts. our dreams. in words. for you.